Lexington Inaugurates New Mayor and Councilmembers

Lexington Inaugurates New Mayor and Councilmembers

Photo by Austin Johnson/ Ace
Mayor Linda Gorton takes her oath of office (photo by Austin Johnson/ Ace)

The Mayoral and Councilmember Inaugural Ceremony took place on Sunday, January 6 at the UK Gatton Student Center. Honorable Ernesto Scorsone, Fayette Circuit Judge, swore in the newly elected Mayor, Linda Gorton.

Many present and past members of the Lexington and Kentucky Government were in attendance. Attorney General Andy Beshear, U.S. Rep Andy Barr, and three former Lexington Mayor’s.

Vice Mayor Steve Kay and Mayor Linda Gorton at 2019 Inauguration. (Photo by Megan McCardwell/ Ace)

After giving her Oath of Office, Mayor Gorton was introduced by a longtime friend and former colleague, Ann Garrity. The theme for Gorton’s speech is “dream big Lexington.” She does understand it will be difficult when it comes to the budget and dreaming big. “It won’t all be easy,” she said. “For the next few years we’re projecting city budgets will be really tight.” However, even with a tight budget Gorton and the Councilmembers are determined to make Lexington an even better and safer city.

Vice Mayor Steve Kay was introduced by former Vice Mayor Isabel Yates. Along with the Councilmembers, Vice Mayor Kay was sworn in by the Honorable Ernesto Scorsone, Fayette Circuit Judge.

Photo by Austin Johnson/ Ace

The following are the new District Councilmembers:

1st District – James Brown
2nd District- Josh McCurn
3rd District – Jake Gibbs
4th District – Susan Lamb
5th District – Bill Farmer Jr.
6th District – Angela Evans
7th District – Preston Worley
8th District – Fred Brown
9th District – Jennifer Mossotti
10th District – Amanda Mays Bledsoe
11th District – Jennifer Reynolds
12th District – Kathy Plomin


Subscribe to the Ace e-dition for Lexington news, arts, culture, food, and entertainment news delivered to your inbox.

Call today to advertise in Ace, 859.225.4889