Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Record Store Day in Lexington

April 20, 2013

POPS Resale
What: Record Store Day 2013
Where: POPS Resale, 1423B Leestown Rd., Lexington, KY 40511
When: Saturday, April 20th, 2013
Why: To honor small independent record stores.

Independently-owned small business POPS Resale is gearing up for Record Store Day. Each year, the third Saturday in April is set aside to honor  independent record stores. This year, that date is April 20th.

This year, Record Store Day festivities will include MANY new record releases. Several of these titles will be exclusive to independent stores, some will be produced in VERY limited runs, some will be region specific. We’ll have lots of free stuff provided by record companies. POPS will supply the snacks.

In addition, free live music will be presented by SHOZO


CD Central

now ordering the more than 300 releases which will come out that day. The official list is now posted at recordstoreday.com. Artists include Black Keys, David Bowie, Elliott Smith, Flaming Lips, Avett Brothers, Grizzly Bear, Nick Cave, White Stripes, Phoenix, Lamb of God, Trey Anastasio, and tons more. Please note: we won’t know exactly what we’re getting until we unpack the boxes. Quantities will be limited. To be fair to everyone, please don’t ask to put anything “on hold”.

bands, food and giveaways all day. Among the bands performing will be Fifth on the Floor, Blood Pheasant and Palisades. More details in the next newsletter!


Institute 193, a Lexington, KY non-profit art space and publisher, will release an album titled “193 SOUND”, comprised of songs by 25 different Southern artists and musicians. The album will
be available for sale on April 20, 2013. On that day, which coincides with Record Store Day, artists featured on the record will perform at CD Central in Lexington, KY.

The artists featured on “193 SOUND” represent a wide variety of genres—from experimental noise to bluegrass. They display the remarkable diversity of cultural production in Kentucky and
across the Southeast.

Most of the artists included on the album have performed in Institute 193’s Lexington, KY gallery space. Others have collaborated with Institute 193 to explore personal projects that differ
from their day-to-day musical work.

A majority of the musicians featured on “193 SOUND” are from Kentucky: including Ben Sollee, Idiot Glee, Matt Duncan, Street Gnar, The Smacks!, Cross, Ellie Herring, Trailblazer, Goldenrod,
Three Legged Race, Resonant Hole, and Warren Byrom and the Canelands.

Kentucky artists Robert Beatty, Louis Zoellar Bickett II, and Ben Durham have contributed experimental sound pieces.

The writer Silas House delivers an introduction to the album, and also reads from a new work to the accompaniment of cellist Ben Sollee.

The record also includes tracks by artists from across the Southeast: the Atlanta band Ruby Velle and the Soulphonics, North Carolina fiddler Rayna Gellert, the Virginian duo Anna +
Elizabeth, the quilters Georgiana Pettway and Creola Pettway of Gee’s Bend, AL, and the Birmingham artist and musician Lonnie Holley.

“193 SOUND” highlights music by ex-pat Southerners Morgan O’Kane, Archer Prewitt, and Zeke Healy. The renowned videographer and musicologist John Cohen has contributed a 1950s
recording of a traditional Appalachian song performed by the Shepherd Family.

A complete track list reads as follows:

1. Introduction – Silas House
2. Somebody’s Knocking – Georgiana B. Pettway and Creola B. Pettway
3. Cream Grid Reruns – Three Legged Race
4. Twenty Two, Twenty Two – Street Gnar
5. Remember Me – Morgan O’Kane
6. Don’t Look That Way – Ellie Herring
7. Heavy Dragoons – Warren Byrom and The Canelands
8. Inhuman Nature – Cross
9. Saturn Psalm – Goldenrod
10. O, KY – Archer Prewitt
11. Shiver – Jules Trakker (Resonant Hole)
12. Trouble in Mind – Zeke Healy
13. Five Nights Drunk – The Shepherd Family
14. (Title to follow) – Silas House with Ben Sollee
15. Life Without Jazz – Idiot Glee
16. Don’t Need It Anyway – Trailblazer
17. Summer Song – Matt Duncan
18. Green Bottom Slave Ship – Lonnie Holley
19. Old Kimball – Anna and Elizabeth
20. DJ (excerpt) – Ben Durham and Robert Beatty
21. Role Model – MSIF + Boost
22. My Dear – Ruby Velle & The Soulphonics
23. 1845 – Rayna Gellert
24. Get It! Get On It! – The Smacks
25. Silent Night, The Archive Louis Zoellar Bickett II, November 28, 2012


April 20, 2013
Event Categories:
, ,